A “Full (er)” House

My excitement at this moment is literally palpable! I could not let a day pass (or a moment, rather) without mentioning the upcoming revival of my beloved TV series I grew up with – Full House! Yes, if you haven’t already heard, last night on Jimmy Kimmel, John Stamos officially confirmed Full House WILL be returning to the small screen as soon as next year! Apparently, 13 episodes have already been ordered by Netflix. Of course, while I am extremely excited about this, the only problem is – I don’t have Netflix.. though, now that Full House will be appearing on it, I just might have to investigate a subscription, even if just to watch the show.

Full House

If you’re like me, perhaps you grew up with the show. It’s a show that brings back waves of nostalgia. There is something special about it, no matter how “cheesy” or unrealistic it may have been. It is comforting to watch the characters Uncle Jesse, DJ, Stephanie, Michelle, Danny, Aunt Becky, etc and have them feel as though they are family to me. Even to this day, I’ll still watch when it airs on Nick at Nite on TV, despite owning every season on DVD. It’s the type of show I have to stop and watch and relive each moment. Sometimes, I even remember exactly where I was when specific episode first aired or I can recite several lines from the show. Along with Saved By the Bell, Full House more or less defined my childhood and is one I will always look back on fondly.

The revival of Full House obviously is slated to be different than the original, with DJ now widowed, with two children (a 12 and 7-year-old and is currently expecting another!). She moves in with her sister, Stephanie, now an aspiring musician and her best friend, Kimmy, who is now a mother of one daughter, herself. The show will be an hour long and produced by John Stamos, who will make the occasional guest-appearance, reprising his role as Uncle Jesse. It was reported by Stamos that they are currently attempting to bring in as many original cast members as possible, with Bob Saget, the Olsen Twins, Dave Coulier (Joey), and Lori Loughlin (Aunt Becky) still in talks to join. It is my hope they will be able to secure the other cast members. I think it would be a very interesting dynamic to be able to see all of them together again after so many years. Of course, they do have a legacy to preserve (Saget mentioned this very phrase when he was a guest on The View last week). I couldn’t agree with him more, though. It’s been 28 years (can you believe it?!) since Full House first hit TV screens and is still watched and highly regarded today. Though I may be wrong, I have an inkling that this new version will be just as impressive as the first and I couldn’t be more thrilled or excited about it!

While revealing the return on Jimmy Kimmel, Stamos stated, “We’ve been working on this for many, many years. The original creator, Jeff Franklin, and Bob Boyett and Tom Miller, we were trying to do some kind of spinoff. We wanted to give credit to the legacy. We didn’t want to just sort of throw it away,” Stamos told Kimmel. “It starts sort of as a reunion and then spins off. … Candace has three boys and it’s sort of a reversal. And we turn the house over to her. But it’s a labor of love. We’ve been literally trying for so many years to do it right. And I think we finally got it perfect.”

John Stamos revealing Full House revival plans last night, on Jimmy Kimmel.

John Stamos revealing Full House revival plans last night, on Jimmy Kimmel.

It is my sincere hope and wish that the revival will do well. In a fast-paced, ever-changing world, it is refreshing to have a bit of childhood back again, even if it is slightly different; I can hear the Full House theme song already!

Leave a Reply

