“Mane” Issues

Happy Weekend to You! Hopefully it’s warm, sunny and pleasant outside where you are, today, as it is here. In fact, it is expected to hit around 80 degrees today! I’m very happy to receiving an early dose of summer today, especially after the brutally-cold, inclement weather-filled Winter we just endured. This time of year often emerges as my favorite (of course, early to-mid Autumn does, as well, in light of the Fall foliage), because it always seems to feel like a new awakening of possibility to me. The flowers are blooming, the days are longer, we can enjoy time outside sans any heavy jackets, gloves, scarves, etc, and simply take in all nature and life has to offer.

Of course though, while I absolutely love the warmer months, over in the region where I live (Pennsylvania), as well as other locations throughout the country and elsewhere, the warmer months often mean humidity, which translates into problematic hair for many of us (definitely ME, without any question!) My hair, in particular, is extremely thick, coarse and difficult to manage. As a result, for a number of years, I have relied upon processes such as Keratin treatments, Brazilian Blowouts, and regrettably, the Japanese Thermal Reconditioning treatments. My favorite of all has been Keratin treatments. If you think about it, hair is actually MADE of keratin proteins, so the treatments only help to replenish and rejuvenate hair and keep it calmer in all weather conditions and climates. Nothing is perfect though, so there are still many challenges I face when working with my hair, but the upside is, the treatments, in combination with several hair products and tools makes it considerably EASIER to manage and also cuts styling time dramatically.

So I figured, perhaps some of you can relate to my dreaded hair woes and I’d love to be able to share with you some of my latest and tried and true hair products and tools:

REDKEN Frizz Dismiss – Smoothing and Humidity Protection (http://www.redken.com/products/haircare/frizz-dismiss-smoothing-humidity-protection)

Redken Frizz Dismiss Line

Last month, when I visited my local hair salon, my hair stylist was glowing and raving about Redken’s latest line! She, along with her fellow hair stylists had just returned from Redken’s Las Vegas symposium and experienced and tried many great techniques and hairstyles with this line. Since she knows how problematic and time-consuming my hair can be, she instantly recommended it to me, given the plethora of options and mediums it provides. Taken directly from Redken’s website, the product line is described as: “Redken Frizz Dismiss offers the first-ever Frizz Protection Factor (FPF) with 4 levels of smoothing and humidity protection for all hair types—from fine to coarse. Frizz Dismiss offers heat and humidity protection with a sulfate-free, sodium chloride-free cleansing system. It is safe for chemically straightened hair. Frizz Protection Factor (FPF), the first-ever professional scale, allows you to choose the protection you need based on hair type and humidity level.”

Sounds pretty ideal, right? The line is available in a shampoo, conditioner, mask intensive rinse-out treatment, smoothing lotion spray, as well as a leave-in oil serum and cream. The possibilities are bountiful and to me it seems there is a product for everyone, no matter if your hair is on the thinner side, or thick and coarse, like mine. Also, a little tip to mention: it was recently introduced at Ulta! Here is the link: http://www.ulta.com/ulta/a/_/Ntt-redkenfrizzdismisswk6/Nty-1?Dy=1&ciSelector=searchResults

So head on over to your local Ulta to see if they’ve started carrying it yet. Now, the only thing I’m not sure of, is if it is coupon eligible, so be sure to check before bringing your $3.50 off a $10 purchase coupon (available via ulta.com)! A little word to the wise: Ulta is currently featuring a buy 2 Redken products get one free, on this line, so you get 3 products for the price of 2! Definitely a win, in my opinion. Personally, I have not tried this line yet, but I definitely look forward to it and am very excited about it.

BABYLISS Nano Titanium Flat-Iron:

Babyliss Flat Iron

As I have previously mentioned, my hair tends to be very difficult to manage and style. It is naturally wavy, frizzy and puffy, especially when I attempt to blow-dry it. That being said, for a number of years, my Babyliss Nano-Titanium flat iron has been a lifesaver! It is a constant staple in my beauty regimen and I would recommend it over any other line or brand. I’ve used my fair share of flat irons, all different brands and types, but Babyliss is by far the highest quality. The settings go up to 450F and heats up within minutes. It is highly reliable and is readily available at Ulta, where you can use a coupon (my recommendation if you’re looking to purchase this flat iron, since it is quite pricey is to either wait until Ulta releases a 20% off of your total purchase, or one item, since it will maximize your savings, or visit Amazon.com, or Folica.com, where prices are typically more affordable and coupons can usually be found via retailmenot.com). Trust me, this will be an investment you won’t regret and will last you for a number of years.

BioIonic 10x Hair Dryer

Bioionic Hair Dryer

A couple of months ago, I was reading a magazine (it may have been Health Magazine, but I’m not certain of this), and stumbled across an article about the newest and most effective hair dryers. What was described is the Bio Ionic 10x Hair Dryer! Though the price was considerably hefty for a hair dryer, I am always looking for a more effective one than I was currently using. My old hair dryer left me blow drying my hair for what felt like hours. I was frustrated and disappointed and knew I needed to make a change. This hair dryer is super light, comes with a dust bag to keep it safe and secure in.

As described on Ulta’s website (http://www.ulta.com/ulta/browse/productDetail.jsp?productId=xlsImpprod10792102) ” The 10X Dryer dries hair in under 10 minutes because it’s 57% more powerful then DC motor dryers. The 10X Dryer is an earth friendly dryer, emitting zero EMF, Ozone or carbon micro particle emissions all while using 75% less energy then other 1800 Watt dryers. It has 3 adjustable heat and speed settings with a cool shot button. Included is a speed dry nozzle and 9 foot cord.”

Though you might gasp upon seeing the price, I purchased mine from Amazon at a savings of over $200! Yes, Amazon is SIGNIFICANTLY cheaper for this hair dryer and if you are truly interested in it, I recommend checking out Amazon (and also checking out one of my earlier blog posts on online survey companies, where JUST for taking some surveys, you can earn Amazon gift cards which will help pay for this hair dryer, or anything else you’re hoping to purchase via Amazon!).

Tresemme Keratin Smooth Line:

Tresemme Keratin Smooth

If you’re looking for a more affordable, but still effective hair smoothing product with Keratin, I highly recommend checking out Tresemme’s Keratin Smooth Line. It is affordable, plus there are coupons available, all the time. They have a vast array of products, everything from smoothing flat iron sprays, heat tamer sprays, serums, shampoo and conditioner. Plus, it has a pleasant smell and leaves hair feeling soft and smooth! Great products for a great price!

Well, there you have it! I hope this was of help! Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

