All Grown Up: TGIF Style!

Happy Thursday! So the week is nearing it’s end and I am so looking forward to it for one main reason – Friday night! Lately, Friday nights have become one of my favorite television nights, as it used to be years and years ago, in the days of ABC’s “TGIF” line-up (i.e. Full House, Sabrina the Teenage Witch, Family Matters, Step by Step, Dinosaurs, etc) It was a night filled with laughter, excitement, popcorn, and other sweet treats and a time where my family, friends and I gathered together to watch our favorite characters on-screen and had material to chat about in the new week at school. In my mind, ABC’s TGIF is synonymous with my childhood and pleasant times.

Image  Image  Image

Today, as a 25-year-old, in my mind, those times have all but returned with a vengeance! Last year, while watching an episode of, “The View,” with my mom one wintry morning, a feature appeared where everyday civilians presented their innovative ideas, businesses and concepts to billionaires (i.e. the “Sharks,” including Lori Greiner, Mark Cuban, Kevin O’Leary, Daymond John, Barbara Corcoran, Robert Herjavec, and several others) It was intriguing and captured my attention. Therefore, from that moment on, I decided to watch Shark Tank, becoming an ABC Friday night staple. Also, I came to develop a fondness for the CBS Friday night television series, “Undercover Boss.” What better concept than to show some of my favorite food locations, stores and businesses (i.e. Boston Market, Auntie Anne’s, Alfred Angelo Bridal, Merry Maids, etc) featured on television with an executive (often a CEO or CFO) venturing into various locations, in disguise, to discover what really takes place behind the scenes. Some of what is discovered is shocking, while others are obvious, some situations are humorous while others are appalling and shocking. These executives, however, have the power to change their employees’ lives and they do. Some of them pay for higher education, new homes, or provide promotions and financial security. Most of these executives appear completely selfless and giving, eager to assist and support their employees in any and every way they can, aspiring to watch them grow and achieve all they can and hope to. Some of these episodes leave me in tears, as it is touching and inspiring.

Image  Image   Image

The last Friday night TV treat is the CW Network’s, “The Carrie Diaries.” Last year, The Carrie Diaries premiered on a night during the week, and while I loved it, the fact that it now airs on Friday night is the ultimate topping to my TGIF Friday! It is a full night of laughter, excitement, and intrigue. While I did not watch “Sex and the City,” when it aired (I didn’t receive HBO growing up), I did see the movie versions and can personally relate to Carrie, as she is an aspiring writer, eager to craft stories through the written and spoken words. She has a small group of best friends, whom she is extremely close with and an on-again, off-again boyfriend, whose love stories can be innocent, or borderline suggestive. Her outfits, fashions and hairstyles are reason enough to watch the TV show on a daily basis, as the 80’s is in full force! While I am a product of the 1980’s, I never had the chance to indulge in the fashions, so watching “The Carrie Diaries” is a chance for me to step into that time period and indulge myself in loud, printed leggings, crimped hair, plastic bangle bracelets, bright makeup and beyond! Each episode of “The Carrie Diaries,” is an adventure and I love to have the front seat!

Image  Image  Image  Image

If you have yet to indulge in these aforementioned TV programs (Undercover Boss, Shark Tank & The Carrie Diaries), then I encourage you to check it out sometime! Of course, it’s not for everyone, but in my mind, these television shows are unique enough to offer something out of the ordinary and unexpected. Each episode changes and truly provides viewers “food for thought,” and ideas to ponder.

QUESTION: Have you ever watched any of these TV programs? If so, which one is your favorite?

Leave a Reply

