To Be Grateful: Appreciating the Small Things

Good morning, my friends! It’s a new week and I’m trying to begin this one on a positive note. After an emotional weekend, I’m trying to shift my focus onto all I am truly grateful for, no matter how “small,” it may seem. Without wanting to ramble, I figured the most succinct way of doing so, would be to place it into a comprehensive list form. Without further adieu, here are a couple “small things” I am grateful for, today:

Image Image

1. Family – Okay, I digress, this is not a “small thing,” this is a big thing, rather, comprised of people who are more than essential to my life. This weekend, however, made me even appreciative of them as they came to my rescue, yet again. It is reassuring to me, to know how I can rely on and trust them, as they are my other half. I feel so fortunate and blessed to have them as not only my family, but my friends. Our relationships are uniquely special and I hold them so very close to my heart.

Image

2. Reusable Bags – Yes, I know, this is a very big jump from above, but still, it is something I am grateful for. Whenever I go shopping, albeit a grocery store, pharmacy, mass market store (i.e. Target, Walmart), I can always be found with a reusable bag. Not only do I find them convenient (how much easier is it to be able to quickly swing a reusable bag over your shoulder rather than having to tote around an awkward brown paper bag, or a plastic bag, which could rip?), but also, they are beneficial to the environment, helping to keep additional waste away from the already saturated environment/landfills. The other day, while in a local grocery store, I took note of an elderly woman’s cart brimming with reusable bags. Seeing that made me smile in approval, glad to see we are doing our part in small ways to help keep the world a cleaner place to live. See, it truly is the small things!

Image  Image   Image

3. Crowded Libraries – As a regular library customer since childhood, it always makes me happy and comforted to see it filled with adults, teens and children, searching for books, spending time reading at tables, or completing school projects in the confines of the library. From the time I was young, my mom cultivated a love of reading and the library in my sister and I. In fact, some of my fondest memories include, the “Teddy Bear Picnics,” at the library, Summer Reading program, and leaving the library with a stack of “The Babysitters Club,” and “Little Sister” book series. Visiting the library was always an eventful experience and still is, so I am thrilled when I see my fellow peers and community members as library patrons. To me, there is simply something special and unique about the library and while it has changed to accommodate technology and the changing needs of the public, it is still valuable and filled with memories. One of the most beautiful libraries I’ve ever visited has to be the Princeton Public Library, so if you’re ever in town, be sure to stop in and explore!

Image        Image    Image

Princeton Public Library

4. Spotting New Products on Store Shelves: As I mentioned before, it is the smallest things that can make all the difference or brighten a day! That being said, this happened twice in a one-week period! Last week, I shared with you my new yogurt and cereal finds and this week, I’m proud to report, the new yogurt finds continued! While at Target, I just so happened to spot a brand new Yoplait 100-Calorie Greek Yogurt flavorBlended Strawberry Cheesecake Bliss! Not having seen a new announcement for it, I was shocked to notice a new flavor on Target store shelves. At Target, one never knows what they might find! Naturally, I had to purchase it and plan on trying it tomorrow! Also, while at a local grocery store called Redner’s, I FINALLY spotted the single containers of Dannon Light ‘n Fit Greek Strawberry Banana! In two other local grocery stores – Giant and Shoprite, the strawberry banana flavor was available in multi-packs only, however, now that Redner’s is stocking it in single containers, I might have to visit more frequently (if I like it, of course!). Spotting new products on shelves might seem minor to some, but to me, it is source of excitement! Again, the little things!

Image  Image 

QUESTION: So, tell, me, what “small things,” are you grateful for, today?

 

2 thoughts on “To Be Grateful: Appreciating the Small Things

  1. I am grateful for YOU! I am grateful for you, mom, and Mike. Oh and Oliver too! The three of you have stood by me through anything and everything. I know if I need to reach out my hand for help that all of you will be there for me and vice versa. I love you VERY VERY much! <3 <3

    • Thank you, so much, Hope. You are an incredible person, who deserves all the best in life and I am so very blessed and thankful everyday for you as my best friend and sister! I love you with all my heart! <3 <3 <3

Leave a Reply

