Discovery on the Shelf: New Products SPOTTED!

Hi, there! Over here in Pennsylvania and perhaps elsewhere, as well, we are experiencing our first “true” taste of seasonal temperatures. True, it is a bit colder than I prefer, but one thing I am loving is the abundant sunshine, warming my car! Plus, it makes the ever-changing leaves/Fall Foliage even more gorgeous and truth be told, I didn’t even think that was possible! Anyhow, this week will be bringing me some changes and adjustments to my daily schedule, so to lift my spirits a bit, I figured I would type up a lighthearted post, which is appropriate, since I have quite a few new product finds to share with you!

It might be a little strange or exaggerated how excited I become when I just so happen to spot a brand new product on store shelves, but in my mind, it’s the little things bringing me joy that counts! Why not celebrate this new finds, which could very well soon become staples in some of our pantries, refrigerators, and more importantly, our stomachs?!

First up: CORNFLAKES EXTRA!

Corn Flakes Extra

As a big cereal fan, I frequently purchase Kellogg’s brand cereal (Special K, anyone?), therefore I’m a member of Kellogg’s Family Rewards, which allows me to enter the codes imprinted inside of cereal boxes and accumulate points to redeem for products, magazines, etc. Periodically, Kellogg’s Family Rewards emails newsletters with promotions, free rewards points, and coupons. In one of the most recent newsletters, Kellogg’s introduced a new variety of Cornflakes named Cornflakes “Extra.” The “extra” in this variety is in the form of dried cranberries and almonds. After reading about it, I was overly eager to spot it on store shelves and after visiting several, I came up empty. However, Saturday afternoon, I visited a grocery store outside of my typical rotation and much to my surprise, ended up spotting the cereal! Although, sadly, I did not purchase it, as it was over $4 – an obscene amount for cereal! I’ll wait until a coupon appears, or if it a sale occurs. I think this cereal will be a decent one. I’ve always been a big fan of cranberries, so it’s interesting to see it offered now in a cereal. I hope there will be a subtle sweetness to the cereal though, as plain Cornflakes are a little bland in my opinion. A couple years ago, Kellogg’s introduced Cornflakes Simply Cinnamon, which I thought were decent, but they mysteriously disappeared after a relatively short shelf life.

Dannon Light ‘N Fit Greek: Caramel Macchiato & Strawberry Cheesecake flavors!

Dannon Light and Fit Caramel       Dannon Light and Fit Strawberry Cheesecake

As many of you may already be aware, not only am I a big fan of cereal, but also yogurt. As far as yogurt goes, I eat both regular and Greek, but mainly prefer Greek, for it’s thick consistency and hearty texture. One of my favorites, Dannon Light ‘n Fit Greek is sweet and satisfying, with a mere 80 calories. However, I was tiring of their typical flavors, so I was pleasantly surprised to spot a new flavor on Walmart shelves several weeks ago – Strawberry Cheesecake! In fact, I hadn’t even realize Dannon was even releasing such a flavor, so you can imagine my surprise when it stared back at me on store shelves. With only 2 containers on the shelf, I snapped up both and was eager to dig in! I’m proud to report, this flavor definitely did not disappoint, however, the taste was more reminiscent of strawberry shortcake, as opposed to strawberry cheesecake, though both are definitely acceptable, in my opinion! Then, my spirits were uplifted again once I saw Dannon Light ‘n Fit’s recent Facebook post, informing consumers Caramel Macchiato would soon be hitting store shelves! Ever the coffee fan, I was eager and enthusiastic, hoping to spot it on store shelves sooner, rather than later. Well… Saturday proved to be an excellent day of finds, as I spotted a four-pack of none other than the Dannon Light ‘n Fit Greek Caramel Macchiato in a refrigerated case at Target! It took only a minute or less for me to decide this four-pack would be coming home with me. Yesterday, I decided to try it and at first, my tastebuds were unsure how to handle this flavor. It was unique and tasted exceptionally strong of coffee. I’m not quite sure I captured a caramel flavor, but it was overly sweet (take it from me, if I am saying it was overly sweet, then it definitely was. I like my foods and beverages super-sweet!). Of course, I’ll have it again (I do still have three containers left), but I’m not quite sure I would buy it again. Maybe every now and then. Also, a caution for those of you actively attempting to avoid caffeine – according to Dannon Light ‘n Fit’s Facebook page, this flavor DOES in fact contain caffeine, as it is comprised of genuine coffee… so exercise caution, my caffeine-avoiders!

Last, but not least, on Friday, while out shopping with my sister, Hope, we just so happened to spot a new Quaker Oats find:

Quaker Warm & Crunchy: (available in – Apple Cinnamon, Cranberry Almond, Honey Almond)

Quaker Warm and Crunchy

According to Quakeroats.com:

  • A new deliciously crunchy hot cereal
  • Specially baked granola clusters stay crunchy even after being heated with milk
  • Made with whole grain Quaker Oats
  • As much whole grains (32g) and fiber (4g) as a bowl of Original Quaker Instant Oatmeal

Oh, yum! I practically DANCED in the aisles of Target after spotting this! What better than sweet, crunchy granola clusters with the addition of creamy milk?! The only thing better are the flavors it is available in! All sound absolutely inviting and satisfying, making for an ideal and easy breakfast! It is effortless nutrition and quite frankly, I cannot wait to try it! Come on coupons/sales!

QUESTION: Have you tried any of these new products yet? If so, what did you think? If not, which, if any, would you most like to try and why?

Happy Shopping, friends! OH, P.S. If you happen to spot any newbies on store shelves, feel free to drop me a line! The more new products, the merrier! Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Discovery on the Shelf: New Products SPOTTED!

  1. I was so excited when I saw you found the new Cornflakes! I love Cornflakes. They make breading chicken tasty. I also want to try that granola oats that we found. They sound so delicious! <3 you.

Leave a Reply

