Goodness in a Box!

This week is a very special week, or at least, to me, it is! Not sure what this week is? Well, without wanting to leave you in suspense, it is….

NATIONAL CEREAL LOVERS WEEK! Did you know there was even such a thing?! I know I didn’t! However, this week it is being celebrated everywhere from television shows (tune into ABC’s daytime program, “The Chew,” for dozens of cereal-inspired recipes!), Pinterest (Check on General Mills‘ boards dedicated to cereal-related recipes. They are unique, varying from desserts, main courses, sides, smoothies, cocktails, and more!). Also, unbeknownst to me, there is even an entire website dedicated to this particular week:  http://www.hellocereallovers.com/NationalCerealLoversWeek/?d=1 On the website, you can even enter your own unique cereal-inspired recipe for a chance to win a whopping $1,000! Not bad to have an extra chunk of change in your wallet or bank account for submitting a fun, tasty recipe celebrating some of our favorite cereals. For those of you who might be active on social media, National Cereal Lovers Week is even trending, so be sure to join the fun at: #CerealLoversWeek.

Image   Image    Image

For perhaps as long as I can remember, I’ve been a dedicated cereal fan. When I was younger, my favorite cereals included:

Quaker Oat Squares – those little squares with subtle sweetness I often enjoyed as a snack right out of the box, with cereal, or in a baggie I brought with me to school or out shopping. It’s hard to eat just one serving!

Image

Life Cereal – For awhile when I was a child, I brought Life cereal with me everywhere, or my cereal was brimming with Life and another one of my favorite childhood cereals I’ll reveal below. I still like it today, but it’s not a cereal on my typical rotation.

Image

Crispix – As I mentioned above, this is the cereal I would often combine with Life. I love how Crispix allows us to enjoy the best of both world – rice on one side, corn on the other. In my opinion, the name brand Crispix is a bit better than the generic, unlike other cereals.

Image

Oreo’s O’s – Do you remember these?! These were around for only a brief period of time and tasted similar to one of my favorite cookies: Oreo’s. It’s a shame it was discontinued, but I still hold out hope that one day it will make it’s return to stores.

Image

My Favorite Cereals of Today:

Special K – I’m a big fan of pretty much every Special K cereal. They are unique, varying from the red berries variety, chocolate strawberry, vanilla almond, cinnamon pecan, multigrain flakes, etc. All are great with milk, yogurt, or as a snack!

Image     Image   Image  Image

Barbara’s Bakery Puffins – I’ve mentioned these many times and to me, they are ideally crunchy and satisfying!

Image

Kashi Indigo Morning – Lightly sweetened flakes mixed with assorted blackberries comprise this cereal, which is one of my favorites. While it’s not exactly cost-efficient, I recently purchased them on Amazon.com, with one of the gift cards I earned from taking online surveys and it was exciting to receive them in the mail! It’s an easy way to order a favorite cereal.

Image

Cereal-Inspired Recipes (via hellocereallovers.com): Check out some of my favorite cereal-centered recipes as shared by General Mills, one of my favorite cereal and snack foods companies!

Image

Cereal Milk Latte

Image

Lucky Charms Latte

Image

Cereal Sundae

Image

Cinnamon Cereal Milk Banana Cream Pie

Question: So, tell, me, how are you celebrating National Cereal Lover’s Week?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Goodness in a Box!

  1. I love cereal too. Quaker Oat Squares used to be a favorite of mine, as you know! I haven’t had it in a long time. I’ve been obssessed with Kashi Go Lean Vanilla Crisp for months now. It’s so good. :) <3 you.

Leave a Reply

