Leaves, Apples and Pumpkins: An Autumn Welcome!

Happy Autumn, to you! As of 4:44pm, this past Sunday, to be precise (thank you, my 6ABC Philadelphia meteorologists for your vital information!), we officially welcomed Fall (or Autumn, as I prefer). For years, I tried to conceal my fondness of Autumn. Why, you might ask? Well, as a child, growing up, it was nearly customary for a fellow peer’s response to be “Summer,” or “Spring,” when asked what their favorite season was. Fondly, with a twinkle in their eye, they would speak of Summer, in particular, with its warmer temperatures and frequent beaches, creating the ultimate appeal. However, for me, the beach and the Summer in general, was never all that appealing. Sure, the warmer temperatures and vacation I liked, but it was the changing leaves and Fall foliage, coupled with the crisp, fresh apples lining the orchard trees, the cooler temperatures (still slightly warm, but with a refreshing, cleansing breeze), and the beautiful, assorted squashes, creating a carnival of color, that left me astonished and filled with joy, when September would approach.

Image

There is something tranquil and new about Autumn. No matter if I am starting a new school year or not, for some reason, Autumn conjures feelings of new beginnings and possibility. This time of year, I feel more creative and motivated, longing to paint pumpkins, pick crisp and crunchy apples, and drink bottomless mugs of spiced, warm apple cider! Oh, how I long to walk through Fall Harvest Festivals, where people line the streets selling their handcrafted jewelry and crafts, homemade cider donuts, and harvesting the largest of pumpkins.

Image

Though it’s furthest from possibility at this point in my life, I envision that if I were to ever marry, it would be this season, within the midst of the Fall harvest and foliage, outside at a vineyard. The colors are warm and inviting, nearly reminding me of a warm blanket wrapped around me. Even if my life is relatively the same, the Fall season evokes a sense of potential and a desire to do better and to create. Whether it is simply a purchase of a Fall mum to be placed outside on the front doorstep, or a wreath filled with hues of red, orange and gold to hang on the front door, my mind is churning, hoping to create something of the season, symbolic of a desire to do more, not only for myself, but for others, to help in some way and to make a contribution.

Image       Image

So, I encourage you, whomever happens to be reading my rambling musings at this very moment, to create, live and enjoy this season, soaking in the warm hues of color, pumpkins and apples, all at their peak.

Image      Image

One thought on “Leaves, Apples and Pumpkins: An Autumn Welcome!

Leave a Reply

