DUNK your DONUTS: How the world runs on DD!

Good morning, my friends! What a soggy, rain-filled morning, we have here in Pennsylvania! Hopefully the weather is better where you are, today, but unfortunately, here, it is a wet mess, filled with torrential rain, lightening and slight thunder. In fact, over in Delaware, there were threats of tornadoes, a bit earlier! Plus, you know the weather is bad when the local morning news is extended and completely replaces the usual Good Morning America (GMA), which it happened to do, today! So I’m GMA-less this morning, unfortunately. I’m hoping the weather improves later on, but by the looks of it, it doesn’t seem to be letting up anytime soon, or at least, not prior to the end of the morning hours. On a brighter note, allow me to brief you with my morning nourishment:

Breakfast (Tuesday, August 13, 2013):

1 container Giant-store brand Raspberry Yogurt: (To be honest, I’m not quite sure as to why I keep purchasing raspberry-flavored yogurts. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not the biggest raspberry fan, yet they somehow manage to keep finding their way into my cart and refrigerator. I mean, this flavor wasn’t too bad, I’ve definitely had worse, but again, it’s not really my favorite.)

1 cup Barbara’s Bakery Multigrain Puffins: (Having noticed this in the back of my cereal cabinet, I decided today was a good day to finally open the box. Now, anyone who knows me, definitely knows I am a HUGE, dedicated fan of Puffins. I’ve had the Multigrain variety many times before in the past, however, today, it seemed to be rather dry and reminiscent of cardboard! I know, I am absolutely horrified to even say it, because I think the Barbara’s Bakery brand and specifically, Puffins are a wonderful cereal and company, however, the Multigrain flavor must have been reformulated, or perhaps I bought a bad box, but sadly, it just didn’t taste the same, or as I remembered it. I think from now on, I will buy the Original flavor, they are tried and true. On a positive note, they were very crunchy and held up well when mixed with yogurt, so at least that was something to be relieved about.)

1 cup Giant-brand Puffed Rice Cereal: (This was decent today, but the yogurt was so thick that it left much of the Puffed Rice cereal abandoned and I was forced to consume it while dry; eh.)

1 Banana: (As always, very tasty, petite and sweet; an ideal treat!)

Image   Image  Image   Image

If you’re big on social media like me and follow hundreds of companies via Facebook and Twitter, then perhaps you noticed the article Dunkin Donuts tweeted and featured on their Facebook pages, yesterday. It was a Huffington Post article, detailing the various types of donuts from Dunkin Donuts that can be purchased all over the world, in a specific sampling of countries. I absolutely ADORE articles of this nature, as well as TV specials of this nature, which can often be found on Travel Channel, Food Network and Cooking Channel. I was overly enthused when I noticed this particular Dunkin Donuts article yesterday and thought I would share with you, in case you might have missed it:

Here is the actual Huffington Post article –

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/06/dunkin-donuts-world_n_3713935.html#slide=2776294 

Image

Black Choco (Indonesia): This chocolate glazed donut is filled with cream and topped with vanilla icing and a chocolate drizzle

Image

Choco Duo (Lebanon): Chocolate-glazed donut with chocolate filling.

Image

Chocolate and Bavarian (Bulgaria): This donut has two fillings, Bavarian Kreme and Chocolate. It’s also topped with chocolate icing and sprinkled with coconut.

Image

Delirium Donut (Peru): The Delirium Donut is filled with Manjar Blanco, a custard similar to Dulce de Leche, and covered with chocolate icing, pecans and a vanilla icing drizzle.

Image

Copihue (Chile): The Copihue donut is served throughout the month of September to celebrate Chile’s independence from Spain. Filled with Dulce de Leche, the donut is draped in chocolate icing and decorated with the national flower of Chile, the Copihue.

Image

Emerald Custard (Thailand): This soft yeast donut is filled with a custard made with pandan, an herb used in many desserts and drinks.

Image

Olive Chewisty (Korea): This light donut, made with olive oil and tapioca starch, is named for its chewy texture.

Image

Saffron Pistachio Melody (India): This spiced, savory donut is topped with saffron water-infused icing and pistachios.

Image

Triple Chocolate Donut (Colombia): This donut’s name explains it all. The chocolate donut is topped with chocolate icing and milk chocolate chips.

Image

Date Donut (United Arab Emirates): This donut is topped with either white or chocolate icing and date syrup drizzle

Image

Mango Pudding Donut (China): This glazed donut is topped with mango pudding.

Image

So there you have it! What do you think? Do you think any of these look/sound appetizing? If so, which ones? In thinking back on my experiences with Dunkin Donuts, they are quite fond for the most part. Throughout my childhood, I can fondly recall cold Winters, spent enjoying Dunkin Donuts Hot Chocolate as a treat, Dunkin Donuts Munchkins at school for virtually everyone’s birthday or as a holiday party treat, Coffee Rolls enjoyed as a late “breakfast” with my family, and Coffee Coolattas enjoyed during the Summer months, or as a Winter treat. While I’m not the biggest Dunkin fan today, I still can appreciate their nostalgic treats and look forward to their new items, as they can be quite intriguing!

Image ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

