Accepting the FINAL ROSE: Why I’m watching “The Bachelorette”

Good Morning to you and welcome to a brand-new week! Here’s to hoping to your week is a pleasant one, filled lots of happiness and successes! Alright, let’s get right to it: so if you’re a reality TV show fan like me, more specifically of, “The Bachelorette/Bachelor” ABC series, then you’re most likely enthused for tonight! However, if you’re unfamiliar or dislike the series, then allow me to inform you, tonight is the season finale of “The Bachelorette” starring, Desiree Hartsock, as the lucky (or at least, some might not consider her so lucky, based on all that has occurred this season!) “Bachelorette.” This season, in particular, has been quite a controversial one, especially as of last week’s episode, where Desiree’s acclaimed “love,” shaggy-haired, mysterious, Brooks, unexpectedly informs her he does not return her affections, or at least, not in the way she hoped. Let’s pause for a moment, though, despite how excited I am, for me to inform you of my morning eats – psst, there’s a NEW yogurt in there!

Breakfast (Monday, August 5, 2013):

1 container Chobani Blackberry 0% Yogurt: (Yay, finally, the time came for me to try the newest variety of the Chobani 0% family! This flavor of yogurt was one of the many unveiled last month, in Chobani’s exciting “Month of New Flavors!” Numerous 2% varieties were introduced, however, Blackberry was the only new one of the 0% variety. I wasn’t sure what to expect with this yogurt, given I’m not the biggest blackberry fan, however, this yogurt was decent. I liked and very much appreciated the consistency – it was thick, but mixed well and wasn’t at all reminiscent of paste, which I was thankful for. I’d buy it again, but I wouldn’t necessarily say it would be on my typical rotation of yogurts. It’s still worth trying though, if you haven’t already.)

1 cup Special K Cinnamon Pecan Cereal: (Oh wow, let me start by telling you, this is packed with flavor, flavor, flavor! YES, it did in fact require three flavors! The cinnamon truly came through and was the star of the cereal, plus the crunch held up excellent when mixed with other cereal and the yogurt. I haven’t had this variety of Special K in a number of years, but decided to snag a box yesterday while shopping. Apparently, these past couple days are a blast into the past when it comes to my cereal choices! No harm there! Haven’t tried these yet? Trust me on this: you’ll definitely want to get to it, asap!)

1 cup Giant-brand Puffed Rice Cereal: (This combined well today with the Special K, as it pumped this otherwise, subtle cereal with lots of flavor!)

1 Banana (Great size, flavor and sweetness! Yum and oh so satisfying for the morning!)

ImageImageImageImage

My History with “The Bachelorette/Bachelor” ABC Series:

ImageImageImage

Before I discuss with you my feelings on this particular season of “The Bachelorette” which concludes this evening, I figured what better opportunity than to chat with you about how exactly I became interested in this ABC reality series. The day was March 25, 2002, (my sister, Hope’s birthday, in fact!). It was approaching 8pm, as I sat down at the dinner table, by myself. At the time, I was in 8th grade, and since it was a Monday evening, it meant I had chorus practice at school. For some reason, practice must have ended early that night and all I can recall, is being at the table, enjoying a typical dinner of tortellini and vegetables, by myself, while a new show I was curious about was about to air – i.e. “The Bachelor.”

Thinking the name sounded interesting, I settled into my chair as I shoveled in my dinner, unsure as to what I should expect. Within moments, I was hooked. I watched as the “Bachelorettes” each made their way out of the limo, into the arms of the first-ever “Bachelor,” Alex. From that point forward, each Monday evening, it became a ritual for me to return home after chorus practice and settle in to catch an episode, eager to see who Alex might end up with.

Since 2002, I believe I’ve missed one or two seasons of “The Bachelor,” for one reason or another. In any case, I’ve been a dedicated viewers of both “The Bachelor,” and “The Bachelorette,” most likely, because I am a romantic at heart. While I’ve never been in love myself, I am a voracious reader and fan of romantic comedies/dramas, and watching love unravel on the small screen (whether realistic/genuine or not) always seems to capture my attention. I suppose it’s the whole idea of it and watching two individuals share and delight in their time together, traveling and engaging in adventures many of us could only dream of (i.e. traveling all over Europe, the Caribbean, having our favorite singers/bands perform ONLY for us, etc). It’s entertaining to have the opportunity to dream and think of what it might be like to indulge in a fantasy romance such as those often depicted on television.

ImageImage

Though, I must admit, watching the wedding between former Bachelorette, Ashley and her-now husband, JP (whom she chose on “The Bachelorette“), I was nearly brought to tears. Actually, if you happen to check out my Quotes & Thoughts I Like page on here, there is an Irish love poem on there, in which they read to each other during their televised wedding. I first heard it and fell in love with it as they read it to each other, while stating their vows. With Ashley and JP, to me, it appears they are in true, genuine love. When they are around each other, it’s as though all others fall into the background, as they are saturated in each others’ presence. Perhaps I’ve created it to be a fairytale, but to me, they appear faithful to one another. Plus, they are local! Apparently, they are residing in Princeton, NJ, since JP works in NYC and Ashley works in Philadelphia – it strikes a delicate balance between both locales.

ImageImage

Switching to this season of “The Bachelorette,” things are a bit different than usual. For instance, several men ended up removing themselves from the show, feeling uninterested in Desiree, or as though a “connection,” failed to present itself. To complicate things even further, as of last week, Brooks, apparently, who Desiree claimed to love, extricates himself, as well, from the show, feeling he doesn’t love her or have affections for her in the way he felt he would. However, tonight is the season finale, and only time will tell what will happen. In my opinion, I haven’t a clue as to what might occur, but can only hope for the best. If I am being honest, watching Brooks tell her his apparent “true feelings,” all but broke my heart. I know all too well what it feels like to hold a torch for someone who doesn’t return the affection. It is heartbreaking and painful, making one perhaps question, what wasn’t “right,” about them in particular, even if it wasn’t anything to do with them, at all. On the show last week, Desiree’s pain was palpable, and as I watched the tears flood from her eyes, I could feel my past hurts and disappoints come running back to me.

ImageImageImage

Do I think “The Bachelor/Bachelorette” series is completely truthful and revealing of what ACTUALLY happens all the time? To be frank, no, I don’t. However, I do think that at some points, true, literal emotion is shown. I think it would be near impossible to DISGUISE ALL emotions, no matter how hard one might try, or how good a video editor might be. Of course, this is only my opinion and I only know what I see and perceive.

Overall, “The Bachelor/Bachelorette,” might be considered my “Monday indulgence,” but one I’m not afraid or ashamed to own up to. Plus, if you’re active on Twitter and a fan of the show like I am, be sure to follow Helzberg Diamonds on Twitter, as they will be giving away this beautiful necklace as the show airs:

Image

Ahh, yes, a rose, how fitting!

QUESTION: Do you watch “The Bachelorette/Bachelor?” If so, why? If not, why not? Also, what do you think will happen on tonight’s season finale?

*CHECK BACK TOMORROW – ZEVIA GIVEAWAY WINNERS ANNOUNCED!*

2 thoughts on “Accepting the FINAL ROSE: Why I’m watching “The Bachelorette”

  1. I’ve watched The Bachelor in the past but this is the first season I’m watching The Bachelorette. To be frank, I find Des to be super boring. She says the same things over and over. But I do feel very bad for what happened with Brooks and agree that it was true emotion. I’ll definitely be tuning in tonight to see how it ends, but I really have no idea!

Leave a Reply

