Fashion Forward: Top Fashion Trends I’m Loving!

Happy Monday! I hope your morning was a welcome start to a *HOT* July summer day! Right now, here in Pennsylvania (and perhaps wherever you’re located, as well) we are experiencing another heat wave, though to be honest, I don’t really mind all that much. I’d much prefer to be subjected to excessive heat, rather than excessive cold. As long as the humidity is at a minimum, heat isn’t all that bothersome to me. Anyhow, before I jump into today’s musing (FASHION!), I’ll fill you in with my tasty eats this AM:

Breakfast (Monday, July 15, 2013):

1 container Yoplait Light Raspberry Cheesecake (Yes, a newbie on the blog, thus far. I like to change it up a bit with some variety – Greek yogurt vs. traditional. I like that Yoplait Light has such a wide sampling of flavors. This was my first time trying this particular flavor and I have to say, I liked it for the most part. There was a strong raspberry flavor, however, I didn’t quite taste anything reminiscent of cheesecake, which was a disappointment. Still, I’d probably buy it again in the future).

1 cup Special K Red Berries (Yay, red berries! However, this box doesn’t have as many red berries, as usual. Still good though.)

1 cup Barbara’s Bakery Original Puffins (Crunchy pillows which combine well with mostly anything!)

1 Banana (Okay.. so, I really must have gotten a bad bunch of bananas, because I experienced the SAME issue today as I did yesterday with the peel. It was a challenge to peel the banana, although once I did peel it, it ended up being palatable, so I suppose that’s all that really matters in the end.)

ImageImageImageImage

Back to today’s musing: Fashion. I’ve been into fashion since I’ve been young, spending time at the mall and various stores outside the mall, websites, etc, seeking the latest fashion. I’ve perused magazines, examining the pieces carefully selected by respected editors, celebrities, and fashion stylists. Though I’m not able to shop as much as I’d like to, I’m still particularly taken by some of these unique fashion trends I’ve spotted in some of my favorite stores (i.e. Target, Kohl’s, H&M), websites (Pinterest, fellow bloggers), and elsewhere.

FAVORITE CURRENT FASHION TRENDS:

  • Peplum:

Ever since first seeing this look about a year or so ago, I’ve been hooked! Unfortunately, I haven’t actually gotten around to owning any pieces of Peplum, but sure hope to in the imminent future. In fact, I spotted a very sophisticated peplum top at Express just the other day! While perusing Target, I also spotted some adorable Peplum tops (which, if you’re so inclined, can venture on over to http://www.target.com/coupons and print yourself some coupons to use, making for a great buy!) I also happened to spot, also on the Target clearance rack, a black Peplum skirt!

* Peplum Fun Fact: The word Peplum actually means “tunic” in Greek and can be described as an “overskirt.”

Here’s some photos of Peplum for those who may be unfamiliar, or simply would like a clear depiction of one of my favorite trends:

Peplum SkirtPeplum Top 4Peplum Top 3Peplum Top 2Peplum Skirt 2

  • Summer Scarves:

I’ve always found scarves of any kind to be classy, with the instant ability to “dress up,” nearly any look! Unfortunately for me, I’ve never been all that inclined on typing them! However, lately, I’ve been seeing light, pastel-colored scarves which compliment an otherwise casual look. These scarves can be purchased nearly anywhere (Target, Walmart, Kohls, for the more frugal fashionista, and also at higher end stores such as Banana Republic, J.Crew, Nordstrom, etc). From wherever you might purchase, in my opinion, these summer scarves are truly one of a kind!

ScarfSummer ScarvesSummer Scarf

  • Button-Down Sleeveless Blouses:

While shopping in two of my favorite stores, Kohl’s and Target, I spotted several button-down sleeveless blouses! For me, personally, I’ve always loved this look and purchased several in the past from H&M, another one of my favorite and thrifty stores. Sleeveless blouses have always had the ability to make me feel more feminine, sophisticated and put together, no matter if they are $5 or $50. They are available in countless unique patterns, colors, materials and fabrics, able to be dressed up or dressed down and are ideal for the office on a hot summer day, or even a night out on the town, when paired with a skirt, jeans, leggings, or even dressy shorts.

  • Strappy Wedges:

As a petite female (5’1″ sans heels), I frequently can be found sporting an array of heels, wedges, and platforms. Wearing heels and shoes with height is something I’ve enjoyed for years and love purchasing them in unique and bright colors and patterns. My all-time favorite shoe store, DSW provides many options and varieties, creating a unique experience each time I stop in to explore. What I like most about wedges, is they are easily walkable, since their bottom surface is flat. In the summer, this makes for easy walking on grassy surfaces (especially handy when taking walks, catching fireworks) and also on the boardwalk!

Strappy wedgesStrappy wedges 2

  • Dressy Shorts:

To be honest, I haven’t worn shorts in years. It’s not that I don’t like them, in fact, it’s the opposite! I’ve been seeing them in magazines, on people out and about, in stores, and elsewhere, and I’ve grown quite fond of them! No longer are they only for casual wear, but they are also ideal for nights out on the town and on some occasions, even in the workplace, depending on your type of work and the style of the shorts. Some of my favorite looks are a sleek pair of fitted shorts, a sleeveless blouse and heels or wedges. It’s an effortless, stylish Summer look!

Dressy short outfitDressy shortsDressy shorts 2

  • Long Beaded Necklaces:

For as long as I can recall, I’ve been a fan of jewelry of all kinds. Like shoes, scarves handbags, jewelry has the ability to truly transform an otherwise plain outfit to a sophisticated, fun, stylish look. Plus, it can be customized to match the colors you’re already wearing. With long, beaded necklaces, they can be easily tossed on (many don’t even require a clasp hook), so it’s toss over your neck and wear! Easily, simple and fun fashion – the way a Summer look should be, in my opinion!

Bead NecklaceBead Necklace 2Bead Necklace 3

  • Sundresses:

In summer fashion, sundresses have always been a staple in my closet. More often than in the Winter months, I find myself reaching for dresses, as they are typically easy to thrown on and can appear put together in minutes. There are many styles, colors and fabrics and at stores like Target, are typically on sale during the Summer months and are affordable. For instance, last year, I required slightly more dresses than usual. Since my sister, Hope, got married in August, I needed a couple of dresses to wear for her bridal shower in the Spring, her bachelorette party in the Summer, and also her rehearsal dinner the night before her wedding. If you’re wondering where I purchased dresses for several of these occasions, that’s right, I visited my favorite stores: Target and Kohl’s, however, I did visit one other store for the dress I wore to the bachelorette party… Plato’s Closet! If you’re unfamiliar with Plato’s Closet, it is a resale store, where customers bring their gently used clothing in exchange for cash on the spot! Some of the clothing sold there is high-quality, barely worn (if at all, some actually have new tags on there), from stores such as Bebe, Arden B, H&M, plus a host of others. They can be a little strict with the clothing they accept, but its understandable, since they aspire to sell good conditioned merchandise, which is still highly wearable. The dress I purchased was affordable, colorful and ideal for a night out in Atlantic City, NJ! Stay tuned for an upcoming future post about Plato’s Closet!

DressSundressSummer dress

  • Yoga Pants:

Last, but certainly NOT least are yoga pants! Each night, is my uniform, complemented by a comfortable t-shirt. To me, there is nothing better than being able to relax in a pair of yoga pants. They are comfortable, easy to move in, and pretty much adjust according to your body, with wear. My go-to store for yoga pants is Kohl’s and I know I’ve mentioned them numerous times in this post alone, but I’ll tell you why: they are incredibly generous with coupons (in fact, there is usually always one available for printing), plus if you have a Kohl’s charge, they send you additional high-valued coupons, (some even worth 30%) which you can always use on ALL merchandise, regardless of price (regular, sale, clearance), which can TRULY make for an exceptional deal! Not only are traditional yoga pants available at Kohl’s, but also yoga capris, shorts, plus different colors and waist designs, etc. They have a wide variety for an affordable price!

Yoga Pants

There you go, my fashion forward friends and visitors! These of course are just a small samplings of my current favorites in the fashion world.

QUESTION: What are some of your favorite fashion trends? Or, what are some fashion trends you aren’t too fond of?

2 thoughts on “Fashion Forward: Top Fashion Trends I’m Loving!

Leave a Reply

