Rescued by Love: Celebrating Daisy’s One Year

Exactly one year ago today, a blustery, frigid February day, the second to last Saturday of the month brought us to the parking lot of our local Petsmart, a short distance from home. Prior to 9am, the wind fiercely whipped as our fellow rescuers gathered before us awaiting the arrival of the van, slated to arrive shortly en route from Alabama. Families and individuals of all kind stood huddled together donning their heaviest Winter gear, eager to meet their new pals, confidantes, and family members.

For me, as excited as I was, there was no denying the painstaking fear and nervousness I harbored since learning she was ours. Having Oliver more than half my life, my beloved Bichon Frise who passed away last year at the ripe age of 15.5 years, I’d never known another dog as closely as him. Though I desperately longed for another dog, especially after seeing Daisy’s photo and experiencing an immediate connection, apprehension also surfaced as I contemplated if I could love another dog as easily I had with Oliver.

Rescued Quote

Though, no matter the worries and apprehensions I nursed, the desire to rescue and welcome another worthy dog into my family surpassed any fears. In the months following Oliver’s passing, I’d established a close connection and following for animal rescue organizations, choosing to follow many on social media, carefully searching for my next potential family member. Unknowingly, one Sunday morning in early February of last year, I first laid eyes on Daisy (formerly known as Cinderella), and suddenly, I knew she was the one. Perhaps it was because the slight pink coloring in her nose and white fur reminded me of Oliver, or maybe it was because something about that friendly smile called to my heart; whatever the case may be, it took little time for me to quickly submit an application for her, hoping it would be me the organization would choose.

Daisy Rescue

That Saturday, February 17th, 2018, my family and I awaited Daisy’s arrival, braving the frigid cold with our fellow rescuers, until finally, last out of the white van from Alabama, was Daisy. Eager and excited with anticipation, Daisy freely roamed the area, running wild and showing us for the first time, her rambunctious personality, full of life and eager to show us what it meant to be carefree and full of zest.

Daisy Home

Life, as we all know, isn’t always easy, but rather filled with a serious of challenges and triumphs, alike. After bravely weathering through a series of late Winter storms following Daisy’s arrival, the Spring season brought with it a plethora of sunny and warm days with not a cloud to be found in the sky. On those days, my family and I would peruse the neighborhood with Daisy, leash in hand, making new acquaintances and taking in the freshly laundered air that is that of the Spring season. On more than one occasion, I found myself during these moments looking up at the clear, pristine, blue skies and thanking whomever or whatever it was that blessed me with Daisy. It is proof that sometimes when one thing, person, or moment is taken away, there is always something of equivalent, or maybe even better value lurking upon the horizon.

Rescued 2

Today, I celebrate and commemorate Daisy’s arrival into my life and family, so proud to have her as my best friend, my sunshine on cloudy days, and my forever family member.

Rescued 3

Happy One Year, Ms. Daisy; I hope you know how truly loved and celebrated you are today and everyday.

image1

Leave a comment